Hugsies Blog!

February 5, 2012

My history with a Mac

In 2010 i saved up for over nine months to buy a Macbook Pro. A good machine that can play games with a real GPU and dedicated ram for video. Once I got it, everything was kosher. Then the wiring on the magsafe connector started to fray and I had to hold the wire oddly for it to charge my MBP. Short time later (not a pun) those frayed wires shorted out and the power adapter was toast.

Fortunately at the time I was still under the 12 month warranty (had it for about 8 months) I called Apple they arranged a replacement and i got it the next day after returning the old one.  Cool eh?  Unfortunately it’s not like the coverage for my new power adapter was extended another 12 months.

So time passes to last December. I like to keep my MBP powered by the adapter at almost all times, so I was moving from one AC outlet to another and as got settled into my new spot, pluged it in and attached the magsafe to my mac and sat down on a chair with my MPB on my lap, it turned OFF.  poof! This time it turned out the PMU that was having issues, and doing a simple reset of it fixed everything. YAY!  Later on it eventually died on me too, and so I just bought a new one off Amazon.com and it came in 2 days.

A month later, I went to bed charging my mac after it had shut down from letting the battery drain out playing iTunes.  Pluged it in, saw the LED on the magsafe go amber color, and went to bed.  Woke up the next morning and saw no lights from the LED.  WTF?  I assume it was unplugged from the wall or something. It wasn’t, but it was blinking green every 8-20 seconds but never staying green, it would go off.  Booting the MBP showed it had a full charge! So something b0rked after the charge, and now it stopped charging.

So now i have two power adapters that are DEAD.. and about 20% battery power left. I did not get service contract with apple, I could barely afford the $2000+ price tag for the laptop as it was, and another $375 was out of the question. Afterall i am a tech my self, and i know how to deal with computers, but Macs are almost a different breed of computers, even though they are more PC now than they ever had been.

So after all of this bullshit, it’s clear that the initial problem I had with the first power adapter some how messed with the computer it self causing the other two power adapters to eventually fail.  This time this new power adapter failed in about three weeks! So there’s something wrong with my mac.  But what? the power management hardware? The battery?  If it’s the battery i can easily buy a new one and install it. I know the battery isn’t removable but I know how this computer is built and it’s not like the battery is welded into the chassis.  They are made to be replaced. But i don’t know if that will fix the issue of my power adapters fucking up

I’ve called Apple and there’s not much they can do since i don’t have any coverage and money is VERY tight for me.  There is no apple store in my town, but we do have an authorized apple service but they charge $60 an hour to just LOOK at it.  It’s possible if I go outta town to an Apple store they might look at it for free, but even then they still need to fix it, and i have no idea how much that would cost. If it’s more than the what the service contract would have been (apple care) then I’m fucked.

So any fellow techies heads who are mac inclined give me a heads up as to what FUCK is going on here? What I can do on my end and fix it?  What parts I may need, and can I swap out the battery? Is the PMU something that’s even replaceable/serviceable?  If I take it to an apple store would they just end up swapping out the mobo anyway?

Since it’s a power management unit problem, could it be an issue with OS X Lion, and apps like NoSleep, and Insomniac fucking with the PMU that ultimately makes my power adapters fail?  Both these apps don’t work properly since I switched to Lion. Insomniac just doesn’t work at all.  NoSleep does work but once you reboot it just disappears and you have to re-install it over again.  Both apps are said to work with Lion, but they don’t.. and there hasn’t’ been any updates to them to fix these problems.  I might as well Gazelle my Mac and say FUCK Macs!

Help!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

