Hugsies Blog!

December 31, 2011

MagSafe isn’t!

Filed under: Mac Stuff — Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , — Hugsie @ 6:14 pm

Last Monday something went wrong with my Mac. When plugging in the magsafe connector, the machine just went black. I had just unplugged it from one wall, onto another outlet wall because i wanted to move. Hell it’s a portable computer, i should be able to PLUG IT IN SOMEWHERE ELSE when i want to.

So it took less than 5 seconds to unplug it, move it over to another AC outlet, and as I sat down putting my MBP on my lap, it turned it self off.  As if something shorted out and it turned off as a precaution. Maybe I bumped the magnetic connector or something. Now with the 1st power adapter I had, it went bad on me when the wires inside were fraying near the magsafe connector, and wasn’t able to keep a consistant connection. I had to bend and pull the cable to make it power my mac, then it just died a couple months later.

Anyway, so now the newer power adapter, that i’ve had for about 9 months, doesn’t seem to work anymore.  It no longer powers nor charges my MBP, as if the power brick is dead like the 1st one was. I was looking at about $30-$90 to replace the power adapter, since I didn’t bother with an extended Apple service contract, and it’s over a year old from when I bough it. This is the SECOND TIME in the past 15 months this fucking thing has broken on me.  Hell the old Xbox 360s lasted at least 2 years before they RRoDed on me… SIX TIMES for the past 6½ years.  I digress…

So I ignored my Mac for nearly a week. Preoccupied with Skyrim and Fallout DLC. So I power up my Mac just on batteries since I knew it worked; I just didn’t wanna waste battery power till i get a new power adapter. The Mac behaves weird. It boots much slower, the keyboard doesn’t light up even though it on screen icon shows it’s going brighter and darker. The fans were on full blast the moment I hit the power button.  Once it got to the desktop, I noticed that on the status bar for the battery has a big X on it, and clicking it stated “NO BATTERY PRESENT.”  So what the hell is powering it then, magic power from the spirit of Steve Jobs?

So something got damaged. My guess is whatever governs power between external power, batter and when it should charge.  Turns out this is called the PMU (Power Management Unit) that deals with AC and Battery power and recharging the battery, as well as the fans  It’s likely my power adapter works just fine, it’s just this PMU is having PMS.

So.. after Googling this issue, and learning about the existence of the PMU; I found out how you reset it!  I had my doubts a simple keyboard keystroke with it TURNED OFF would matter.  It first said with it off, to plug the magsafe power in, and I wasn’t even sure if it was broken or not, since it doesn’t light up when it’s plugged in. So with Job’s faith, I pressed shift-control-option with the power button, and let go of all of them simultaniously. Then power back on as normal, and hallelujah it powered back on as normal!  The green light lit up on the magsafe connector, then it turned orange as it does when it charges.  It went to my desktop and everything seems to be… normal!  YAY!  Macs are so.. WEIRD. Well not so much Mac’s but I’ve only owned 2 laptops in my entire life (the 1st one being a netbook) and never really had to deal with PMUs.

And to think they wanted me to pay about $350 for an Apple service contract, when I could have bought another laptop for that? BTW this is my 300th post on my WordPress blog.  Yay!

Now if I can just get NoSleep, or Insomniac to work properly on OS X Lion. Arg! No sleep works well, but when you reboot it’s no longer installed, it just isn’t THERE anymore. It doesn’t install in the traditional .dmg way; it uses an actual installer app like windows. Where as Insomniac just doesn’t work at all.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

