Hugsies Blog!

February 2, 2010

Loved Mass Effect 2

Love it, just finished the main story, but here are my comments, suggestions, other gripes.

FYI: No Spoilers!  so it’s safe to read if you hadn’t played it.

For a game that requires TWO game discs, the game seems awfully short. I did all the loyalty missions, and a lot of other side missions. Though i did play for 3 days strait, with 28 hours total under my belt (plus i re-did about 5 loyalty missions, and played the ending twice). I didn’t really go ape-shit with boring mineral mining/scanning at all the planets I found.  Still it seemed rather short when most games of this magnitude take me at least a week to get though. Brutal Legend took me longer.  There must be more missions if I go out and scan every planet (I did buy more star charts at Illium.)

Leveling seems a bit slow.  Seems like I have to play the game twice to reach level 30 (for that achievement). There doesn’t seem to be enough content, or any “grinding” to do to level up (I don’t think mining gives XP does it?). Plus my imported gave save from ME1 only started me off at level 2?  Come on… 2?

I use a sniper rifle a lot, and when taking cover, it keeps zooming when I use a biotic power. Doesn’t matter if I use the power wheel, or a mapped button on my controller, it zooms every time I have my sniper rifle quipped while taking cover. It also zooms when I blind fire my sniper rifle (ie Fire w/o pulling left trigger to zoom) while taking cover.  It should ONLY ZOOM when I’m pulling on left trigger! Annoying!

While on the subject of zooming; the Sniper Rifle almost never zooms in on the direction I’m already looking at.  I know it’s following a target that’s framed in the red brackets, but  that should only apply to biotic powers, and giving orders. Not weapon zooming since most of the time those targets are taking cover behind a wall, so I am off to the side waiting for them to pop their head out for a head shot.  So often when I zoom I end up eyeballing some wall or the side of a crate, not aimed at what I was expecting to see, and I get disoriented.. and then I become an open target.  Not fun.

Can someone PLEASE update Miranda and Jacob’s AI so they don’t run into my fucking line of fire, and then BITCH at me for shooting them? (Shepard cockslaps Miranda)

Why can’t I re-map what the Y button does?  If I can re-map which biotic powers the left and right bumpers do, why not the yellow Y button? I rarely ever used that biotic power (invisibility) be better off using it for something else.

When scanning planets for minerals, it would nice if the scanner marked where I had already scanned, so we can be thorough with scans, and not double scan over the same spots.

The “scars” on my characters face look stupid.  I thought there was some sort of corruption when importing my Mass Effect 1 save game. I know it’s to show how much of a “renegade” I am.  My character is a flaming redhead, and it looks more like facial hair, or fresh scratch that is still bleeding.  A “scar” is wound that has healed up; not looking bloody/fleshy red and torn, like a STD.  Zaeed has some REAL scars. And why waste 50,000 on platinum for something that’s removes this. when it’s stupid to have in the game in the first place?

Speaking of 50,000 platinum, what’s the point of the element “full bars” showing how much you have, when you’re scanning planets?  It seems to top off when you get 25,000, so you get the impression you can’t have 50,000 of platinum in order to get the medical bay upgrade. There is no cargo hold upgrade in the game, as if you need one. However you can keep getting more and more; your cargo holds are apparently infinite.  I had over 100,000 on one of the elements.. so what’s the point of them being “full” at 25,000 when you can keep acquiring more?

That direction indicator you see when pressing down on the thumb sticks is often confusing.  It will point in one direction, then you move barely an inch and it’s pointing in some completely opposite direction.

Why is it that my character changes her weapon to what I wasn’t holding in cutsceens? What’s worse, in some cutsceenes (especially towards the end of the game) she using an assault rifle, that I never quip at the start of the mission. Plus add to the fact MY CLASS DOESN’T ALLOW ASSAULT RIFLES! Nor did I pick assault rifle training when i was able to add another weapon skill (I chose shotgun).  Yet she some how pulls one out of her ass all of a sudden?

Joker is a fucking riot (Seth Green rules) “Oh shit!”  “Shit. shit, shit!” “What the Shit!” (At EDI) “Yeah, Thanks, Mom.”   Best Level Ever!

Wasn’t Joker a paraplegic in the first game? He’s walking (gimping) in this one. I thought they would have explained something about that…. Maybe I accidentally skipped that cutscene or something… or I’m just remembering ME1 wrong.

Lots of “shit” in Mass Effect 2, but why no F-Bombs in this game? Well better chance at seeing Miranda’s tits; you just know they did a full nude body scan of Yvonne Strahovski for this game. :p  (Update OOPS Jack drops a lot of F-Bombs!  my bad! Hours of playing makes you forget details!)

I collected ALL the ship models for my cabin, but there is no way to get a good closer look at them, and letting me know what they are. I have no idea what most of these ships are!

The choices for dialogue is misleading as to your Paragon and Renegade points. Many times I ask myself “what the hell did I say to get +2 Renegade?” when the responses I chose (and what Shepard says) seemed completely benign to me. I’ll see a pop-up showing +2 Renegade, just to see a +2 for Paragon right after, just seems so contradiction, when the net result of my conversation should have been neutral, but the character will still act slighted from the “renegade” response.  Not all of the Renegade dialogue choices seem all that bad, most of them I don’t come off as a bitch at all.

As for the Dialogue, why does the same old options appear over and over? Like after you finished the main story, you’ll still have conversions about “we will defeat the Reapers” even though you already had!  Any time you click on EDI’s console Shepard becomes retarded and asks, “What’s this room for?” for the umpteenth time. So how can I possibly pursue a relationship with anyone when all the dialog options are the same, even when I finished the main story?

I just can’t get laid.  I couldn’t get my sex on in the 1st Mass Effect, and I wasn’t able to score in ME2 this time.  What the shit?  Is it because I’m using a female commander Shepard, and I have to talk with male characters? I can’t get no hot lesbo action with Kelly or Miranda?

Kelly said she’d feed my fish, but I found then DEAD!  That lying bitch… and she never put out for me!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

