Hugsies Blog!

August 26, 2009

Linux Distros are still a pain in the ass

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , , , — Hugsie @ 11:58 pm

Wanna know why windows is so popular?  because when you want to download and install an app, or a plugin/addon to an existing application you have, it just works.  Trying to do the same thing in a linux environment is damn near impossible.

I have an Asus EEE PC 900, and I hate it’s stupid linux install.  So i tried Windows XP, but it’s a bit too large for this little 4gb C: drive.  I had been using Windows 2000 for the the past 6 months or so, but it’s a DEAD OS now. The apps I want to use depend SO MUCH on newest version .net bullshit that the newest .net installer refuses to install on anything less than XP. It’s exactly like Linux where whatever you download either won’t do anything since the OS has no fucking clue what the file does, or the dependencies aren’t satisfactory.  What kina bullshit is this?

With Windows, you just download an installer, and it installs every thing you need.  Some installers are smart enough to download the files you DO need while it installs, and guess what it RUNS.  Why do i have to go though so much BULLSHIT with Linux and it’s umpteen zillion distros that are so fucking particular about every little thing that using this as an every day OS is practically worthless?

Yes I’m a linux noob, but for fucks sake how long has Unix/Linux been around vs Windows, or even Microsoft it self?  At least Microsoft shed it’s user-unfriendliness legacy DOS baggage 10 years ago.. why hasn’t linux gotten the same thing.  Could it be the fact that there is a zillion difffrent distros all trying to do thier OWN THING, while at the same time pretending to be “open sources” and interoperable when they ARE NOT to the average home user.  Sure if you’re a fucking unix NERD you can recompile apps to work on whatever distro you’re using, but when it comes to Joe Average tryng to install FUCKING FLASH pluging.. you’re SOL.

So I’m trying this Ubuntu Netbook Remix on my EEE PC 900.  IT SUCKS.  It has a nice looking UI that it calls it’s “netbook dekstop” that has all the apps you need to use right on screen, but it’s so fucking SLOW.  MY mouse skips and studders making me over shoot the icons of the apps I want to launch.  Ironically it looks like some kina bogged down FLASH GUI animation, since the icons pop when you hover over them, but it just makes my netbook choak. Fortunately you can turn this POS off and just get a normal GNOME desktop that doesn’t make my mouse stutter across my screen.

It comes with FireFox preinstalled (3.0.8) but it doesn’t come with flash plugin. So trying to download the flash plugin for it doesn’t work for the exact reasons i mentioned above.  No point surfing the web with out flash.

So I’m at a loss here.. what the fuck can I run on this shitty little netbook with it’s ANNOYING LOUD CLICKING FAN!  Man I sure did waste $600 on this little pile of shit.

UPDATE: Ubuntu updated it self allowing me to install Flash into FireFox. And the installer applet was then smart enough to install any dependancies it needed, and it installed fine. Yay!  From there I was able to also install Second Life, but it runs horribly on this little lappy. Next I’ll try QuakeLive.

15 Comments »

  1. Hugs,

    It’s too bad you found an Asus netbook that appears to fail 😦 Every other story I’ve heard about Asus EEE netbooks has been stellar, though granted those all had at least a 8GB HD or more. Can you return it for one of those? $600 seems like a bit much for a netbook, as others I’ve seen run around $300.

    Comment by Morgen — August 27, 2009 @ 1:17 pm

  2. The Asus EEE 900 I have hasn’t failed I’m just very unimpressed with it, it works fine. What “fails” is the shity choices I have for an operating system with it. That’s what my rant was about, I don’t really like Linux distros, they are FAR to cumbersome and awkward to use compared to a Windows. And I would use Windows 2000, but it’s so limiting since so many app require .net 3.5 which won’t install in Win2k. And im not going to waste another $150 on Windows XP home for this laptop.

    The reason why it’s so expensive is because it doesn’t have traditional HDDs, it uses two SSD which are very expensive on thier own. One has an internal 4gb SSD built onto the mobo that all EEE PCs like this model have, with an added 16gb SSD added on as D: drive. I bought this model because it comes with Linux preinstalled. Had I ordered the one with Windows XP preinstalled it would have come with a smaller 8GB SSD as D: drive (for the same price).

    Another problem with it is that it’s cooling fan (and the only moving part inside this netbook) is extremely noisy clicky, and irritating. Also this is an older netbook just before the advent of Intel’s Atom CPUs, but it has the larger 8.9″ display (it’s an EEE PC 900) and runs at 900mhz, 1gb ram (I gave it 2)

    Comment by hugsalot — August 27, 2009 @ 4:48 pm

    • Naw everything seems fine now, the next time I booted it up it did over 200 updates to it self, and allowed me to finally install flash into FF. Keep in mind a full blown install of an OS would fill the tiny little 4gb SSD my netbook has. As it stands now there’s just under a HALF gig left on my boot drive. It does have a second 16gb SSD but ubuntu doesn’t seem to see it just yet. It’s formatted NTFS from my previous win2k install, it still should be able to see it, just need to be able to mount it.

      Yes, Xandros sucks completely.. So much so i forgot it was called Xandros.

      Comment by hugsalot — August 28, 2009 @ 7:02 am

  3. I wouldn’t judge Linux based on netbook distros.

    Use a proper Ubuntu, and you shouldn’t run into any dependency problems if you stick to the repositories.

    This may help you out a bit:
    http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/installingsoftware

    (Does not apply to Xandros for the Eee PC—a crippled distro)

    Comment by A.Y. Siu — August 28, 2009 @ 6:39 am

  4. Ubuntu 10.4 is shit too. This is the third time I third time I tried a linux OS and it is still shit. User friendly my ass. You have to put in sudo just for it to see your dvd drive. And god knows if you get it right.

    Comment by instantkarma60 — July 5, 2010 @ 4:52 am

  5. I tried ubuntu 10.04 lucid lynx for two weeks and in my opinion its just shit. Struggled for hours just to install nvidia 9800 gtx drivers. I agree the community is helpful, theres no denying that, but ‘get out of x-console’ bollox and ‘disable nouveu’ bulshit jst to install a driver. Not to mention that I cant sync my phone with it.

    It does have a lot of software which is free, but it all looks and feels cheap. Open office is absolutely shit. I mean the brownest kind. Functionality is nowhere near MS office, or even iwork. I dont mind whatsoever in paying for software, but in the office apps area I am not even given a choice to be able to pay for quality. Im not even gonna mention the games side of things.

    I did like compiz however, but after hours of tweaking my desktop to the desired effect, I had to reboot due to kernal updates and I had lost my nvidia drivers again. Unforunately I had no patience in going thru all that crap again so formated my hard drive and back to Windows 7.

    Now I am deciding between Win and mac osx. Sure i’ll miss the games on the mac but at least I can ‘pay’ for a decent version of office.

    Ubuntu? Pathetic. Total shit! But to each their own and if you like it, go for it.

    Comment by as1m — August 20, 2010 @ 12:56 am

    • jezzuz i posted this a year ago. Sounds like you’re better off getting a mac, you can still play games on a mac, just use Bootcamp and dual boot windows and Mac OS X. But even windows can be a pain in the ass to get things configured especially when you’re dealing with a lot of 3rd part software that dosen’t like newer versions of windows (especially 64bit)

      with a mac, you’re in the walled garden of Apple. Everything is hand fed to you. If the application dosen’t start with the letter “i” Steve won’t approve of it, and therefore you won’t like it.

      No worry about drivers since you can’t download device drivers for your mac from ATI, nvidia, nor even intel. But hey you get the convenience of paying $250 a year to talk to a “genius” at a bar full of mac zealots who think they are special and unique, yet ironically they all fall into the mac-fanboy stereotype.

      Comment by hugsalot — August 20, 2010 @ 1:04 pm

    • Also I happen to like Open Office. I’m no office power user, I don’t need all extra bullshit that just makes it more complicated, cumbersome and EXPENSIVE. I don’t have $400 laying around for software I barely use 10% of it’s functions; Microsoft has enough of my money already, okay? OpenOffice works fine for me, but now I’m a bit wary that I now see Oracle’s logo all over it now when I fire it up to balance my checkbook. WTF is this?

      Comment by hugsalot — August 20, 2010 @ 1:31 pm

  6. You obviously have an aversion to the command line(people can bash it all they want being that this is 2011, but that is how your REALLY get into any system, even a mac in 2011). If it is THAT big of a deal then just give linux up and shut up about it already…All OS’s SUCK(until we make true AI)! Linux is good if you want to learn the nuts and bolts of an OS(and for developing). Also as far as it “feeling” cheap, that’s until you pimp it out to make it look BETTER than even OSX. I have all three OS’s(Windows 7, Ubuntu 10.10, and OSX.4) and frankly I think the screen savers in Ubuntu are nicer than even on the Mac. Yes Linux can be a pain in the ass but as long as a person is willing to put in the time and really learn the command line(maybe even scripting and an actual computer language, write your own drivers for instance) you are totally in control. If you don’t believe me about getting it to look every bit as nice as any other commercial OS, then google something like “really nice Linux desktops”. Also, to put Open Office down, I hate Microsoft Office. I bought the full version(2010) at the college I attend(for about 100 dollars, not gonna pass that up just because it was only 100 dollars) and I just don’t get this new layout Microsoft is using. Open Office is much more straight forward, can do the same things as MS Office(even the instructors at school point people towards Open Office as a perfectly acceptable and usable substitute for MS Office) and frankly I like it better. If I wasn’t a student and I paid the extra 400 dollars for a program that will do the same god damn thing as Microsoft Office, that is a waste of my money and that would be flat out retarted when I could have saved that for parts on my motorcycle, or towards other things like Sonar Producer Edition, Cue Base, Pro Tools, Waves plugins(at least when they go 64 bit). I have never had a problem with Open Office in Linux, Windows, or OSX. Enough said.

    Comment by David P. Jeter — April 18, 2011 @ 7:43 am

    • hey douchebag.. did you notice the DATE on this post is nearly 2 years ago? Yeah.. I did give up on that fucking mess Linux is and hand’t looked back since 10.10. So please fuck off you holier than thou Linux snob.

      Comment by hugsalot — April 18, 2011 @ 11:28 am

  7. Did some one know, why linux is still a pain in the ass to install in 2012?

    Comment by Jean-Marc Ayotte — September 12, 2012 @ 5:33 am

    • Depends on your hardware and the support for that hardware in the Linux distributions themselves that will cause you to say “Linux is a bullshit OS” or it’s “wonder and I love it”. Yes, it’s true, Linux does have the problem with not being able to take applications or installer files right off the web as so many other PCs and Mac can do and have no issue with that at all. The traditional way that Linux operates is that you need to use the Software repositories in order to install new software or drivers
      for your machine. One of the reasons for the use of the repositories or repos for short is that there are so damn many modifications per distribution and version therein that trying to download a generic blob file installer is a hit and mostly miss problem
      in Linux, at current, there are more than 8,000 distribution forks (branches) out there right now.

      I’ve been beating on the Linux community for quite awhile now, instead of branching outward to make more distros we need to collapse the majority of them, and go with at the utmost 12 different distros, made for different work environments; for example
      corporate PC (Red Hat and CentOS do well in this regard), PCLinuxOS for general use, most of the applications in PCLinuxOS work off the bat, as does the browser and playing Flash. The only time you will run into trouble is if you try to install WINE
      and run MS Windows and DOS based applications, I actually tell people to avoid WINE and anything like it altogether, WINE is not a professional library and hardware abstraction layer (HAL) like MS Windows is, most of the functions are still not implemented to this date, so your problems in games will be hit and mostly miss in that regard.

      There is no DirectX libraries and support files for Linux that run “native” which can be a problem when you are looking for absolute speed if executing from within say, WINE. No conversion from a DirectX like library running native in Linux that communicates with WINE seamlessly. Yes, Linux does have it’s clunks, they are getting less by the year but in all due honesty, I have been developing in Linux for years and I don’t see it getting any better in the regard that people come together
      to move forward, their idea of progress it to continue to branch away from the main sources which make it a pain in the ass to develop for, especially quality game engines that use the OpenGL and OpenAL libraries with support files.

      In my own humble opinion, certain distributions do a much better job of doing what a desktop OS should do for you. The one thing you should be aware of is this, don’t expect Linux to run Microsoft Windows applications flawlessly and without clunk
      because even Apple OS X (Darwin, a fork of FreeBSD) has problems running MS Windows applications in a sand-boxed environment (WINE and Samba). Simply put, it’s not MS Windows, so it won’t work like it. For example, the emulators for Windows don’t do so good for Linux or OS X apps because it’s not native and those systems are very different from each other.

      For those people that talk about the “aversion to the command line” or “terminal / console”, people don’t like using something they don’t understand. DOS commands and directory structure in UNIX and alike series is completely different from MS Windows and I can see why they hate it. Coupling this with the fact that they “shouldn’t have to” use the console, it should be able to be point and click but as I said above, it’s because there are too many distributions that change their source codes and recompile and link to make executables that doing the point and click is almost impossible and are force to use the command line / console. That’s the problem!

      As a developer, I don’t have a problem with the shell nor the console but I do have a problem with shear amount of time I have to spend using it for non programming related tasks. These people have legitimate gripes indeed. I have started work on another operating system that is similar to OS X and Linux, however, it’s not based on either source code trees and it’s not open source, my idea is to keep the source closed so it doesn’t become a mess like Linux. I have a feeling I will get better treatment and help from all the major vendors of hardware simply because their drivers will not be open source on their platform and that the idea of their OS is to keep the console out of users hands, straight GUI and that’s it. If you want console,
      that’s something you have to install to get at, otherwise default install doesn’t have it. Plan on having it allow you to install software packages (installers) right from people’s FTPs and Websites like what Windows and what some OS X sites do.

      Granted, I most likely will not have support to use Linux, OS X and Microsoft Windows applications to run as emulated or running via a hardware abstraction layer with support libraries (like what WINE is) but to be in competition with them, also being free to download and use too. By the way, I was using Linux back in 1992 and that was a pain but then again I like a challenge back then, I had a lot more time on my hands in those days too.

      As for office software, I use OpenOffice and LibreOffice as well, depends on what distro I am on and what version, I prefer OpenOffice because that is what I have used the longest on Linux.

      As a note about people that come to Linux from Windows, they’re not programmers, most are fed up with blue screens of death and are gamers, those people don’t want to spend the time to learn how to script or code in GNU’s version of C and C++, which are different than using Microsoft .NET series of compilers and linkers. Believe me, I have no problem with those gamers and just want their operating system to just work instead of having to work the system to get it to do what they want with little or no success in the first couple hours of usage. Ironically, they shouldn’t have to become master coders and console addicts, we in the Linux community need to come together and fix this rather than blow each other out of the water, point fingers and twiddle our thumbs and not fix this obvious problem that’s plagued Linux from the very beginning of time when it was released to open source.

      It’s fine we have console but it shouldn’t be the requirement to get 65% of the stuff you want done compiled, linked and installed that way, that, my friend, is a pain in the ass. For example, I’ve also used SGI Irix back when I owned those machines, I rarely had to use console / terminal on that, that was point and click installation, within a couple of exceptions, that wasn’t bad as compared to Linux was and still is. If people in Linux want professional drivers and production quality grade software, we need to come together, that’s all there is to it, we need to solidify standards, rely less on the console and get better installers. We also need to stop making software that is on bleeding edge with different development teams. For example, a company guilty of this is Ubuntu, the best release they’ve had thus far is 12.04 LTS but the interface sucks unless you have a touch screen and then it’s tolerable.

      I had to execute in “console”, sudo apt-get install gnome-session-fallback, in order to get the old functional desktop back, which they should have had a question before you started your session on live media if you want the classic desktop or the newer version which they didn’t. The other problem in misstep I saw, was their repos having faulty data and websites loaded in the default setting, which shouldn’t have been their either. That’s enough to get newbies pissed off and some older users as well,
      should have worked off the bat without a hitch but still had problems in the default install.

      If you are looking for general browsing, using Adobe Flash, E-Mail, etc., not trying to use Linux to run Windows apps, give PCLinuxOS a try as live media, don’t have to install it to give it a go.

      By the way, Linux isn’t a total loss, the Sony Playstation 2 and 3 both use Linux kernels and schedulers but then again that was maintained by a professional organization (Yellow Dog and Sony), they wrote their own drivers for their hardware, so it worked seamlessly. From what I understand is that the Sony Playstation 4 is also uses a Linux distro too, no doubt it’s customized to high hell as well.

      Comment by Alex — February 26, 2013 @ 7:15 pm

  8. Oops, spelling error, “wonder and I love it” should read, “wonderful and I love it”. My apologies!

    Comment by Alex — February 26, 2013 @ 7:16 pm

  9. Another thing, I should mention, the drivers for Linux in regards to Intel Atom CPUs with the GPU built into them, the earlier ones from N470 and older have horrible support in Linux, I’ve known this and I’ve had to get with Intel to write custom drivers for the Asus Eee 1005 series Netbook and that was interesting working with Intel to get good working hardware drivers. As a rule of thumb, avoid the Asus Eee series computer in general, they’re horrendously under powered for what they are regardless of what ever OS you put on them. Some models do however have the ability to fast boot into a Linux distribution built into the ROMs and allow you to surf the web, etc., although there are very few with this ability to do so (diskless boot and surfing the web / reading E-Mail, etc.) If you are so fortunate to have this, I’ve heard people played Flash content too years ago, although the Adobe Flash Player would be out of date by now.

    Comment by Alex — February 26, 2013 @ 7:33 pm

  10. My 5 Cents worth- I am a network engineer on the old Netware 6.5 platform. Novell as you know for some dumb stupid reason dropped Netware and dumped Suse on all their customers and many just switched to Windows server. I have tried to install apps on Suse Linux desktop with KDE and in regards to the first post in this thread. I agree Linux SUCKS when it comes to installing programs. I am so fed up I went back to crappy windows.

    Comment by Craig — August 19, 2013 @ 3:12 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

